Our staff is a unique mixture of renowned EU scholars and top level EU and international law practitioners. They combine academic rigour with the latest practical insights in a context of cultural diversity.



  • Prof. D. ARTS - Partner with Allen & Overy, specialising in general EU law and competition - Referendaire to the now-President of the European Court of Justice, Prof. Koen Lenaerts
  • Prof. P. DE HERT  - International expert and director of VUB's research groups in criminal and human rights law - Core member of Law Science Technology and Society (LSTS) group
  • Prof. Y. DEVUYST - Principal administrator in the European Commission, former member of Cabinet of Competition Commissioner Karel Van Miert - Cabinet member of three Belgian Ministers of Foreign affairs - PILC alumnus
  • Prof. R. GOSALBO BONO - Former Head of Council Legal Service’s External relations Team and advisor at the U.N. Office of Legal Affairs - Comparative law expert
  • Prof. S. GUTWIRTH - Professor and international expert on human rights and legal theory at the VUB -
    Chair of research group Law Science Technology & Society
  • Prof. F. HOFFMEISTER - Head of Unit in European Commission for EU’s Trade Defence Policy -Former Deputy -Head of Cabinet for Commissioner Karel De Gucht
  • Prof. T. JORIS - Jean Monnet Chair of European Law and PILC Co-Director -Director of the Centre for European Law at the VUB -PILC alummus
  • Prof. H. KALIMO - IES Senior Research Fellow -- PILC Programme Director, expert in environmental and economic law – Previously various managerial positions in Nokia Corporation
  • Prof. M. LAMENSCH - International expert in VAT law, PhD from the IES - Professor at Catholic University of Louvain - PILC Alumna
  • Prof. B. MARTENCZUK - Member of the Cabinet of Commission First Vice-President Timmermans -Former member of Commission’s Legal service
  • Prof. A. NUYTS - Partner at law firm Liedekerke -Expert in internatonal Litigation and Arbitration practice
  • Prof. S. SMIS - Professor of international and criminal law at the VUB – scholar in universities in Africa and in the UK on international human rights and criminal law - PILC alumnus
  • Prof. B. SMULDERS - Head of Cabinet of Commission First Vice-President Timmermans – Former Director and Principal Legal Advisor in Commission Legal Service
  • Prof. S. OBERTHÜR - IES Senior Research Fellow and VUB Professor; former Academic Director of the IES - Leading expert in climate change (e.g. a member of the Kyoto Compliance Committee)
  • Prof. S. VAN THIEL - Head of the EEAS Section of economic affairs, development and environment in Geneva - Former Head of the Tax Division of the Council - PILC alumnus

The staff’s core eligibility criteria are a PhD or equivalent academic and/or professional legal experience, outstanding didactic qualities, excellent communication skills in English, proven research and publications record, and broad exposure to realities of global and/or European governance. A high motivation to contribute to PILC, including willingness to assist students in their (Thesis) research, are also vital.



The Board of the programme consists of the programme directors and professors, as well as two student representatives. The Board governs the content and practical matters of the programme.

PILC Professors emeritus

  • Bart DE SCHUTTER, Founding PILC Director, President of the VUB Institute for European Studies, former VUB Rector and former Dean of the Law Faculty of the VUB
  • Jonathan FAULL, Director General for Internal Market and Services
  • Robert FISCHER, Legal Adviser at the European Commission (retired)
  • Edward Patrick LATHAM, European Commission official (retired)
  • Bernhard SCHLOH, Legal Adviser at the Council of the European Union (retired)
  • Neri SYBESMA-KNOL, Former full-time Professor at the Law Faculty of the VUB, former Director of the Centre for the United Nations law (VUB)
  • Gabriel WILNER (†) Associate Dean, Executive Director of the Dean Rusk Center, and Charles H. Kirbo Chair in International Law at the University of Georgia School of Law (USA), and Director of the Brussels Seminar on the Law and Institutions of the European Union

Case study tutors

  • Bertold BÄR-BOUYSSIÈRE, DLA Piper
  • Etienne CLAES, LeBoeuf Lamb Greene & MacRae
  • Maurits DOLMANS, Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton
  • Rupert ELDERKIN, Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton
  • Porter ELLIOTT, Van Bael & Bellis
  • Christoph FEDDERSEN, Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton
  • Kent KARLSSON, Kastell
  • Jonas KOPONEN, Linklaters
  • Anne MacGREGOR, Cadwalader
  • Robert MURRAY, Mischon de Reya
  • Robert O’DONOGHUE, Brick Court Chambers
  • Mike PULLEN, DLA Piper
  • Steven SPINKS, Sidley Austin LLP
  • Irina TANASESCU, European Commission
  • Bertold THEEUWES, Lorenz
  • Filip TUYTSCHAEVER, Contrast. European & Business Law

Frequent guest lecturers

  • Petr BLIZKOVSKY, Director at the Council of the European Union
  • Juha KARHU, Professor of Law at the University of Lapland
  • Olga KOPICZKO, Legal Officer at the Directorate General for Environment at the European Commission
  • Robert MURRAY, European competition lawyer at Mischon de Reya
  • Avi SCHNEEBALG, Attorney-at-law and commercial mediator
  • Peter SCHONEWILLE, Legal Officer at the Directorate General for Taxation and Customs Union of the European Commission
  • Lode VAN DEN HENDE, European and WTO lawyer at Herbert Smith Freehills
  • Edwin VERMULST, International trade lawyer at Vermulst, Verhaege & Graafsma, Faculty member of the World Trade Institute in Berne, Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of World Trade and of Law and Economics in International Trade.